First, tap Settings.

Then tap General.

Now tap on Keyboard.

From the Keyboard menu, existing shortcuts will be listed. To create a new one, tap Add New Shortcut. Enter in a phrase and shortcut, then tap Save.

Test the new keyboard shortcut by creating an email or text Message. Then type the shortcut text you created. In my example, typing irl will display the phrase I’m running late. A savings of 13 characters which unfortunately I use way to often.

Apple iOS Keyboard Shortcuts are a groovy and time saver. I’d love to hear which shortcuts you’ve created on your device. Tell me about them in the comments. Comment Name * Email *

Δ  Save my name and email and send me emails as new comments are made to this post.

Apple iOS  How To Create Keyboard Shortcuts on an iPhone or iPad - 6Apple iOS  How To Create Keyboard Shortcuts on an iPhone or iPad - 33Apple iOS  How To Create Keyboard Shortcuts on an iPhone or iPad - 30Apple iOS  How To Create Keyboard Shortcuts on an iPhone or iPad - 18Apple iOS  How To Create Keyboard Shortcuts on an iPhone or iPad - 48Apple iOS  How To Create Keyboard Shortcuts on an iPhone or iPad - 38Apple iOS  How To Create Keyboard Shortcuts on an iPhone or iPad - 49